Hrafnseyri is a farm and a former parsonage on the
northern shores of the Arnarfiord Bay. The present church was
consecrated in 1886. It is wooden and covered with corrugated iron. It
has been blown off its foundations twice without great damages and put
back where it belonged.
Hrafnseyri was named after one of the greatest
men of the Saga Period (12th century), Hrafn
Sveinbjarnarson. He was probably the first educated doctor of medicine
of the country. There are several ruins still visible in the home
meadows, a church, and a cemetery.
On the 17th of June
1811, Jon Sigurdsson (†1879) was born there. His birthday, June
17th, is Iceland's National Day. He played a unique role in the
country's fight for independence, was a member of parliament until the
end of his years after it resumed its role in 1845 after an
intermission of 47 years and its president as well from 1849. He lived
in Copenhagen from 1852 - 1879. His former dwelling there is the
property of the Icelandic government and is used for all kinds of
cultural activities. His statue stands on the small square, directly
opposite the House of Parliament in the capital. His memorial was
unveiled at Hrafnseyri in 1911. His museum there was opened in 1980.
He is often referred to as "Iceland’s Pride, Sword, and
STRANDIR SAGA TRAILS
The Museume is open
Daily 13–20, from 1.
June- 25. August,
Tel.: 845-5518 (Valdimar