museum combines and displays artefacts connected with fishing, industry
and the social and cultural development of the 19th century.
The museum was established upon a suggestion and the hard work of
captain Sigurdur Gudjonsson and opened to the public in 1989.
Its largest and foremost artefact is the open fishing boat
Farsaell (Fortune), built by shipbuilder Steinn Gudmundsson for the
farmer and fisherman Pall Grimsson at the farm Nes in Selvogur.
Fortune is a twelve-oared boat, one of 400 boats built by Steinn.
The shape of his boats was adapted for the landing on the flat
and sandy coastline of the south and the constant beating of the waves
upon departing and landing.
museum also boasts of many photographs and a baiting hut from 1925, when
the motorised fisheries were booming in Eyrarbakki.
Its western wall still shows, that a small, wooden fishing boat
was flattened and used as að part of the wall cover.
Saturdays and Sundays
fom 14-17 in
from 10-18 daily
July and August.
Addr:Túngötu 59, 820 Eyrarbakki -
Tel.: +354 483 1504 - Fax: 483 1082